Taking Notice

Over the Easter break I embarked on a reorganisation of my studio space. There will be many DIY tutorials that will come from this as I toy with ideas that hopefully you will find useful in your own home/work space. Todays post though is about my new notice board that is made up of a pin board and a photo frame. Because my creativity involves mass amounts of colour, pattern and texture I try and keep the storage and decor items in my space to black, white, grey and natural so it doesn’t overwhelm me when I have all my fabric out and it doesn’t influence each piece I make.

So I picked up this frame at a local department store for not much. Yeah it works on its own but it is sooooo boring. So I took the back off the frame and covered the pin board in a vintage print linen that I have. I then took the matting out of the photo frame section and covered a board to fit with some of my $$$$ linen that I adore. When I put it all together I now have a vintagey pin board for decor cutouts etc and on top is a white board (any normal white board marker will write on glass and it wipes off very easily with tissue). I also tied some ribbon around my marker and then to the back of the board so that I don’t need to look for it again. You could use any frames or pin boards you like and decorate with bright colours. Why not recycle that favourite top that doesn’t fit anymore for the pin board and use decorative paper for the whiteboard backing?

Leave a Reply

