Dark chocolate ganache tart

Chocolate ganache tart

I just thought I would share one of my favourite indulgent quick desserts with you this Christmas! These little pods are just enough rich chocolately goodness to fill the dessert stomach. I make them in the base of muffin tins. They don’t need any oven time and can be made in advance.

Chocolate ganache tart 4

To make the case I crushed up some Oreos (you could use whatever favourite sweet biscuit you like) and mixed them with some melted chocolate, just enough to bind the biscuit together. I pressed the mixture into the muffin or cupcake tins, making a well in the middle and put in the fridge to set. While the cases set I heated chocolate and cream together in a saucepan over a low heat (can also be done slowly in the microwave) stirring as needed. Now I’m hopelessly bad at measuring quantities, and it depends on the kind of ganache texture you like but I kinda go for 50/50 with ganache which is different to some but like I said it’s up to you. Once the cream and chocolate have combined, let it cool slightly. With these tarts I spooned the slightly cooled ganache into the cases, you could also whip the ganache first so it’s like a frosting. This is so simple, it’s embarrassing, but it does get a sweet dessert on the table quickly. The only thing I would say is don’t use a cheap cooking chocolate, it will be too bitter. The chocolate is the main ingredient so make sure you use one that you love the taste of to begin with.

Now tomorrow, we have another sweet treat for you! My chocolatier friend is going to share one of her favourite recipes with us, Woo Hoo!

Chocolate ganache tart 5Chocolate ganache tart 6Chocolate ganache tart 3

Chocolate ganache tart 2

Leave a Reply

