Be my Guest; Cocoa Jo’s chocolate chip cookies!

Cocoa Jo's chocolate chip cookies

I’m excited to share a little delicious Christmas gift from my lovely chocolatier friend Cocoa Jo from Cocoa Jo’s! She is guest posting today and sharing her favourite choc chip cookie recipe.

Thank you all for having me! My name is Cocoa Jo, chocolatier and baker but most importantly wife and mother of four gorgeous children. I love to create all things sugary and sweet and its that time of year again where my baking to do list quadruples. Chocolate whisky fruit cakes, gingerbread houses, artisan chocolates and of course teachers gifts. I always like to give my kids teachers a home baked gift for all the effort, time and patience they give to my children all year long. After all, I’ve been a teacher, I know what they go through…..hence why I am now a chocolatier instead!
This year I decided to bake the humble chocolate chip cookie. Everyone likes them, most people LOVE them and you certainly can’t go wrong when they are filled with Belgium Chocolate. If you can’t get your hands on some real chocolate, good old supermarket chocolate chips are still fantastic. I have decided to share my all time favourite chocolate chip cookie recipe with you all. The reason I love this cookie is because it makes those large, flat, slightly soft cookies that are perfect with an ice cold glass of milk. I like practical gifts but I love multi purpose gifts even more. So I decided to present these cookies in a canister that could be reused by the recipient. I bought these on clearance for a few dollars at Spotlight. You could pick them up at any storage, kitchen or basic supermarket store. Just remember when choosing your canister you need a wide mouth top to fit the cookies! Once filled tie some cute ribbon around the canister and you have an impressive stack of cookies.

Cocoa Jo's chocolate chip cookies 3
The last most important thing to remember when making jars of cookies….is to trial a tray of a few different sized scoops of dough out first. Last thing you want to end up with is a full batch of cookies that don’t fit in your canister. After all you wouldn’t want to have to eat them all. This recipe is so versatile to individual taste and is easy to halve as well. You can add a half a cup of
chopped nuts or even two tablespoons of caramel topping to make them chewier. I can not give you a yield as it all depends on the size of cookies you need but all that matters is if you make a full batch….there will be plenty for you to taste test. I usually prefer a mix of both dark and milk chocolate chips but you can use any combination of dark, milk or white chocolate. I use dark brown sugar as it gives a deeper, slightly caramel taste to the biscuits but plain brown sugar works just as well. Lastly, before you get baking the mixture will be quite soft.. don’t be tempted to add extra flour. It is not a dough to roll but rather plop it on the tray and watch it do its magic.
Single, Double Or Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies
2 ½ cups plain flour
1 tspn salt
¾ tspn baking soda ( bicarb)
225g soft butter
1 cup castor sugar
3/4 cup (115g) dark brown sugar, firmly packed
2 eggs
2 tspn vanilla
435g chocolate chips
Preheat your oven to 190º C ( 374º F ). Line cookie trays with baking paper for best results. Beat butter and both sugars in a mixer until smooth, scrape down the sides of the bowl. Add eggs and vanilla and mix.
Add flour, salt and baking soda and slowly mix until incorporated. Then continue to mix on medium speed for a further minute. Finally add chocolate chips and mix until combined. Spoon teaspoon or dessert spoon size mounds onto the trays leaving room for spreading in between. These don’t need to look pretty, they can be rough as they will melt down into a flat cookie.

Bake in the oven for 10-12 mins. If you like them slightly soft, pull them out when the center is still slightly pale and soft. If you like crunchy cookies leave them in until fully golden brown. These cookies are at their best slightly soft though! Let them cool for 2 minutes before transferring them to a wire rack to cool. Pour yourself a glass of ice cold milk and have at least two cookies right now, straight out of the oven!!!

Enjoy baking!

oxox Cocoa Jo

Cocoa Jo's chocolate chip cookies 2

Leave a Reply

