Time saving tip for chopping onions & garlic!

Onion & Garlic

I’ve written about this tip on Facebook recently but I have never shared it here so I thought it was about time. I’ve been doing this for awhile now and it saves me a ton of time. As most good dinners start with frying off some onions and garlic, I decided to pre-prepare them to save time (and onion chopping tears). I now only chop onions and garlic once a month. Each month I buy a bag of fresh onions and a few heads of garlic. I peel and halve or quarter the onions and peel the garlic and put it in batches into the food processor. Once its chopped up, I spoon it into large ice cube trays, cover and put in the freezer. Because of the high water content in the onions, it freezes really well. Once it’s frozen, I twist the cubes out into a zip lock bag and store in the freezer for a few weeks. Every time I cook something like risotto etc I start by putting some oil or butter in the pan and putting in a couple of garlic/onion cubes and frying it off. So easy and cooks beautifully.

One thought on “Time saving tip for chopping onions & garlic!

Leave a Reply

